The Unesco Chair is part of the UNESCO ChairsUNITWIN network and is fully integrated within the network of the Honors Center of Italian Universities (H2CU) that is one of the signing member of the Chair since its establishment. A description of the UNITWIN and H2CU networks is inserted here below.

UNITWIN / UNESCO Chairs Programme

Launched in 1992, the UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs Programme promotes international inter-university cooperation and networking to enhance institutional capacities through knowledge sharing and collaborative work. The Programme supports the establishment of UNESCO Chairs and UNITWIN Networks in key priority areas related to UNESCO’s fields of competence – i.e. in education, the natural and social sciences, culture and communication.


Water-related UNESCO Chairs

web site

H2CU – Honors Center of Italian Universities

H2CU Web Site

The H2CU – Honors Center of Italian Universities – is the Sapienza University of Rome academic center of international research and academic exchange including 21 Italian universities and three CNR institutes. The H2CU, since 2004, has established prestigious bilateral agreements with US universities (MIT- Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Polytechnic Institute of New York University, Pace University, Columbia University, Florida International University) with the goal of developing academic and research programs, dual and joint degrees, faculty and students exchange.

SHeC – Centre for Sustainable Heritage Conservation

Established in University for Foreigners of Perugia in 2018, the Centre of Sustainable Heritage Conservation aims to become a reference point for research, development of solutions and training of practitioners and scholars, in the field of conservation, enhancement and management of cultural heritage, in a perspective of sustainability.

Unesco Chairs involved:
University for Foreigners of Perugia
La Sapienza University of Rome 
University of Florence “Prevention and Sustainable Management of Geo-Hydrological Hazards”   “Sviluppo Umano e Cultura di Pace”
University of Ferrara
IUAV University of Venice
Polytechnic University of Milan
Polytechnic University of Turin
University of Basilicata
University of Turin
University of Bologna